Sunday, June 2, 2013

NTIA Requests Nominations for FirstNet Board

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) published a notice in Monday’s Federal Register (available on-line Saturday, 78 FR 33072-33073) requesting nominations for three potentially open spots on the FirstNet Board. Four of the initial 12 non-permanent members of the Board were appointed last summer for a one-year term instead of the three-year full term.

The existing Board members that were only appointed for an initial one-year term are listed below. The Secretary of Commerce may re-appoint any, all, or none of these individuals.

• Jeffrey Johnson, Fire Chief (retired); former Chair, State Interoperability Council, State of Oregon; CEO, Western Fire Chiefs Association;
• William Keever, telecommunications executive (retired);
• Susan Swenson, telecommunications/technology executive; and
• Teri Takai, government information technology expert; former CIO, States of Michigan and California

FirstNet Board members are appointed as Federal employees and paid a daily rate of pay of almost $13,000 (at level IV of the Executive Schedule). They may not be registered lobbyists or agents of a foreign government. Conflict of interest rules apply to this position and financial disclosures must be made.

Persons wishing to be considered for these possible appointments should submit the appropriate information to The notice does provide a snail mail address but notes that “all material sent via the U.S. Postal Service (including “Overnight” or “Express Mail”) is subject to delivery delays of up to two weeks due to mail security procedures” (brings new meaning to ‘snail mail’). Submissions should be made by June 14th, 2013.

No comments:

/* Use this with templates/template-twocol.html */