Wednesday, December 22, 2010

112th House Homeland Security Subcommittee Chairs

The web site reported yesterday that Rep. King (R, NY), the Chairman of the House Homeland Security Committee in the 112th Congress, announced the sub-committee chair for that committee. Additionally, the Sub-Committee names have apparently been changed to reflect a slightly different focus. The Chair and revised sub-committee names are:
• Rep. Candice Miller (Michigan)[Corrected 8:48 pm 12-23-10], chairman, Subcommittee on Border and Maritime Security (Formerly - Subcommittee on Border, Maritime and Global Counterterrorism)

• Rep. Patrick Meehan (Pennsylvania), chairman, Subcommittee on Counterterrorism and Intelligence (Formerly - Subcommittee on Intelligence, Information Sharing and Terrorism Risk Assessment)

• Rep. Dan Lungren (California), chairman, Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies (Formerly - Subcommittee on Emerging Threats, Cybersecurity, and Science and Technology)

• Rep. Gus Bilirakis (Florida), chairman, Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Communications (Formerly - Subcommittee on Emergency Communications, Preparedness, and Response)

• Rep. Michael T. McCaul (Texas), chairman, Subcommittee on Oversight, Investigations, and Management (Formerly - Subcommittee on Management, Investigations, and Oversight)

• Rep. Mike Rogers (Alabama), chairman, Subcommittee on Transportation Security (Formerly Subcommittee on Transportation Security and Infrastructure Protection)
There is a fairly substantial re-working of sub-committee assignments reflected in the new list of Chairs. Only two of the newly appointed Chair (Miller and Lungren) served as Ranking Member in the same Sub-Committee in the 111th Congress. The remaining Chair listed were not even members of the respective Sub-Committee in the current Congress.

All of these sub-committees will have some coverage of issues of interest to the chemical security community. The two major sub-committees for chemical security legislation, however, will be the subcommittees chaired by Rep. Lungren and Rep. Rogers.


Laurie Thomas said...

PJ, Candice Miller is from Michigan.


PJCoyle said...

Good catch Laurie. It just goes to show that you can't beleive everything that you read on the Internet.

I have made the appropriate correction.

/* Use this with templates/template-twocol.html */